Jump to content




Photo

Posting links


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Cheater

Cheater

    Headmaster of the asylum

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,891 posts
  • Joined: 14-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norcross, GA

Posted 10 October 2008 - 09:43 AM

There are at least two different ways to place links to other places on the web in your Slotblog posts.

Here's the format for a standard "raw" HTML link (with curly brackets subbed so it won't "activate"):

{url}www.slotblog.net{/url}

The above code makes the link "clickable" in your post.

However, for appearances sake we prefer you use the "titled" link format.

To make it a titled link, this is the code:

{url=www.slotblog.net}Slotblog{/url}

Here's how the above codes appear if I put the square brackets back in place:

www.slotblog.net

Slotblog

Note that clicking either line has the same effect.

FWIW, it is my unhealthly obsession with the board's appearance that makes me hand-change most raw HTML links into titled links. Posting your links in the titled link format would be much appreciated by the admin staff.

Gregory Wells

Never forget that first place goes to the racer with the MOST laps, not the racer with the FASTEST lap





#2 don.siegel

don.siegel

    Posting Leader

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,826 posts
  • Joined: 17-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 11 October 2008 - 05:32 AM

Greg,

I may be a little thick, but I don't really understand what you did here, and I would like to know how to do titled links... could you spell it out a bit more for the less computer literate amongst us? Usually I just copy and paste the URL into a thread... what exactly do I do to get the underlined title?

Thanks,

Don

#3 Cheater

Cheater

    Headmaster of the asylum

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,891 posts
  • Joined: 14-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norcross, GA

Posted 11 October 2008 - 08:02 AM

Don,

Assume you want to make a titled link to Google in a post.

(HTML 'tags' are always enclosed by square brackets, i.e. [], but for this tutorial we have to use another symbol to keep the tags from 'activating', so the illustration here will use curly brackets, i.e. {}. Just remember that to make the real link display as intended in your post, the square brackets must be used. Also, the blue color used below is to make the examples stand out; it's not part of the process.)

First type into the post's text field:

{url=

Next either type Google's address (URL) or copy and paste it from the address field of a page open to Google. You can use either the short form (www.google.com) or the long form (http://www.google.com/); either one works.

So now we have:

{url=www.google.com or {url=http://www.google.com/

Next close the bracket:

{url=www.google.com} or {url=http://www.google.com/}

And type the link name as you want it to appear:

{url=www.google.com}Google

And to finish, add the closing tag:

{url=www.google.com}Google{/url}

Again, please note that

{url=http://www.google.com/}Google{/url} functions identically.

If I replace the curly brackets with the corresponding square brackets in both of the above final tags, they display as:

Google

Google

The above tag is what you type in the text field when you make a post. Once you submit your post, the bracketed tags will be replaced by the underlined link you wanted. To see the tags again, simply click "edit" and they will reappear in the edit screen.


Note that the above titled link tag is a version of the plain URL tag, which looks like this (with curly brackets again used for illustration):

{url}www.google.com{/url}

This tag simply makes the URL be 'clickable' in your post and it will be underlined to indicate that it is clickable. Here's what the plain URL tag looks like with the proper square brackets reinstalled:

www.google.com

Don, let me know if this makes it clearer for you.

Gregory Wells

Never forget that first place goes to the racer with the MOST laps, not the racer with the FASTEST lap


#4 don.siegel

don.siegel

    Posting Leader

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,826 posts
  • Joined: 17-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 11 October 2008 - 10:29 AM

Slotblog

Got it - thanks, Greg!

#5 slotbaker

slotbaker

    Dan Gurney Fan

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,256 posts
  • Joined: 16-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia.

Posted 11 October 2008 - 03:51 PM

Or we could just use the icon "Insert Link" that allows us to paste the url address into one text box, then the description into the next text box.

This icon is first one to the right of the smiley face button when posting a reply.

This Slotblog thread.

It puts the HTML code/brackets around the correct bits in the same way as Greg describes, except that you don't have to remember it.

:)

Steve King


#6 Bill from NH

Bill from NH

    Age scrubs away speed!

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,402 posts
  • Joined: 02-August 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Boston, NH

Posted 11 October 2008 - 09:58 PM

Okay, now Ron doesn't have an excuse for not using "Titled Links" and neither does anyone else, since we have a "Links for Dummies" icon.

Steve, thanks for pointing this out and bringing it to our attention. :)

Bill Fernald

 

You have to be odd to be #1. :laugh2: 


#7 Phil Hackett

Phil Hackett

    Posting Leader

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,402 posts
  • Joined: 29-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Big Red Star on a Kremlin Map

Posted 11 November 2011 - 07:24 PM

Greg, I **finally** started naming the links like they should be.... but, is it possible that a board script could be written to make it an "automatic" function? Let's suppose I want to post a link: there'd be a button I would click on and a window would pop up where I could paste the URL address for the link and then another entry box for the name I would like to name the link. Doable? Already done? Overworked?

Just an idea.
Click HERE to contact Sonic Products. The messenger feature on my Slotblog account has been disabled.

Posted Image

#8 Victor Poulin

Victor Poulin

    Posting Leader

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,097 posts
  • Joined: 04-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Raymond, NH

Posted 11 November 2011 - 08:28 PM

Slotblog


Test
Alright, who cut the cheese?

#9 Mopar Rob

Mopar Rob

    Retro Snob as of 1/12/2011

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,445 posts
  • Joined: 13-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:By a Great Lake

Posted 11 November 2011 - 09:09 PM

but, is it possible that a board script could be written to make it an "automatic" function? Let's suppose I want to post a link: there'd be a button I would click on and a window would pop up where I could paste the URL address for the link and then another entry box for the name I would like to name the link. Doable? Already done? Overworked?

It's already there. The little chain looking button to the right of the smily face and directly below the "sizes" is the insert link button. Click it and then that window you're asking for pops up.

button.jpg
Rob Hanson

Shops at Mid-America Raceway and uses R-Geo Products
 

Rob was right!


#10 Phil Hackett

Phil Hackett

    Posting Leader

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,402 posts
  • Joined: 29-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Big Red Star on a Kremlin Map

Posted 12 November 2011 - 03:08 PM

Testing formerly unknown feature...

NASCAR

It works...

thanks for the heads-up!
Click HERE to contact Sonic Products. The messenger feature on my Slotblog account has been disabled.

Posted Image





Electric Dreams Online Shop