• Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#1 Pitt Man

Pitt Man

On The Lead Lap

• PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts

Posted 14 December 2008 - 09:32 AM

I thought I'd share my Pittman motor collection with all of you. I've been collecting these jewels, er...clunks for a few years now.

My favorites have always been the "padlock" style, i.e. DC65's and 85's. I've limited myself to collecting only DC motors with permanant magnets. Several of these you may never have heard of, or seen before, but they were used in the model railroading hobby.

This is by no means a complete collection, there are still over a dozen more motors I'm aware of, and don't have a sample of yet and probably oodles more I don't know about.

Most of these are NOS with boxes, but a few others that are harder to get a hold of, are used. I am by no means an expert on Pittmans, just a casual collector. I also have a few duplicates and a couple of 6001's in running moldy oldy cars. (There's a NIB 6001BB on it's way)

Hope you enjoy,
Bob

Top left to right

Row 1
DC86 12v w/17 laminations
DC106 12v (monster)
DC86 12v w/16 laminations

Row 2
DC85 12v
DC85A 6v
DC85A w/6v 7pole Ram armature

Row 3
DC84 6v
DC84 12v w/12 laminations
DC84 12v w/11 laminations

Row 4
DC65 12v brass end frames
DC65A 12v
DC65A 6v

DC195A 12v
DC196A 12v
DC196B 8v

DC703 12v
DC706 10/12v

L to R, Top to Bottom
Row 1
DC71A 12v
DC71B 12v
DC77A 12v
DC80 12v
DC92 (another monster) 12v

Row 2
DC60 12v
DC62A 12v
DC62B 12v
DC66 6v
DC70 12v
  • Gator Bob and C. J. Bupgoo like this
Bob Steere

#2 Pitt Man

Pitt Man

On The Lead Lap

• PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts

Posted 14 December 2008 - 09:40 AM

Here's another shot of the DC106, just to give you an idea how how large it really is! That's a .156" diameter double shaft.

As a youngster in the 60's, I saw a HUGE Pittman in a slotcar shop. By memory, it was about a 5" cube padlock style with double shaft of 3/8" diameter. MMmmm, perhaps someday I'll find one.

Bob