Photo

Vintage Autos Demo Derby - who remembers this?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Lone Wolf

Lone Wolf

Posting Leader

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,086 posts

Posted 14 May 2013 - 08:57 AM

Who remembers this classic from long ago? I was a freshman in high school when I first had the magazine this was in.

Can you ID it? I am sure PdL will point out any inacuracies... :)

slotblog 383.jpg

slotblog 384.jpg

lpage.jpg

Joe Lupo

#2 sub006

sub006

Mid-Pack Racer

• PipPipPip
  • 106 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 09:29 AM

Well drawn.  A nightmare for the Ralph Lauren/Pebble Beach/$$$$ auction crowd.

But I suspect Jay Leno would smile and "get it".

Jim Smith

#3 don.siegel

don.siegel

Posting Leader

• Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,679 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 09:35 AM

Great strip Joe. No idea what magazine this came from - it really doesn't ring any bells... 

Now, strangely enough my friend Pierre-Yves here in Paris says that he remembers some French "stock car" races (really a form of demolition derby) using cars like Bugattis, which weren't worth that much at the time.... 

Don 

#4 Lone Wolf

Lone Wolf

Posting Leader

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,086 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 10:49 AM

If anybody cares it's from the November 1972 issue of National Lampoon. Full of off color humor just the way I like it :laugh2: