7 replies to this topic

#1 Pablo

Pablo

Builder

• Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,176 posts

Posted 12 August 2014 - 04:30 PM

I'm searching for F1 theory here.  Going to build an RGeo Victory 2 soon, which has a .050 brass shaker piece in place, ready to be cut off and set up however I desire. I've built these type chassis before so I'm no newbie, but this time I want to do something different.  I've seen the piece connected to the pans and called "shaker pans", they work OK.  But do I really need that much gravity force on my pans ?  I've seen other variations.  Does the piece have to move ?  Does it have to connect to the pans ?  How about if I hinge it ? How would it benefit the car and how would I set up the tilt ? 100 gram minimum in IRRA, so the weight has got to go somewhere....

I was thinking maybe a 15 thou platform to hold a rectangle of lead that can slide back and forth with acceleration/deceleration to alternately load the front/rear momentarily. I'm looking for a clever setup but nothing is coming to me......your ideas/theories/experiences are welcome, thanks.

Pablo

Paul Wolcott

#2 Preston M

Preston M

On The Lead Lap

• PipPipPipPip
  • 492 posts

Posted 12 August 2014 - 06:49 PM

Pablo,

I would try to float the center- pan independently from the sidepans. I have done this before with other class chassis, and they seem to all work very well. You can also do independent side pans and then have the center floating as well. lastly would be to have the pan set up as the "torsion" pans.

Preston Meyer
Team R-Geo

#3 old & gray

old & gray

On The Lead Lap

• PipPipPipPip
  • 382 posts

Posted 12 August 2014 - 08:17 PM

Paul,

You could hinge the weight in front and restrained by a shaker in the back. This lets the weight tip forward under braking and rotate side to side in corners. Here is an example of this idea from the BPR race, it's a Can Am but a picture is worth a half page of text.

post-646-0-70476700-1407819498.jpg