6 replies to this topic

#1 RedBaron

RedBaron

Rookie Keyboard Racer

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 March 2015 - 01:08 PM

Hi all,

Newbie here, first post. Not sure this is the correct forum to ask this question, but here goes.

I have about a 60' 1/43 layout now. Planing on moving up to 1/32, 1/24. There is a Revell full track setup on eBay now, item number 291414359763.

Looks as if this would be track to start with. Any opinions about this Revell track, or should I look toward something else? The seller states in can run both 1/32 and 1/24; can this track handle both scales? Now I "know" some of you guys might think this is a good buy and outbid me :dash2: ...

But hey, that's the way things go! Interested in any opinions.

Thanks,

Bill

Bill Butcher

#2 Samiam

Samiam

Posting Leader

• Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,092 posts

Posted 28 March 2015 - 01:24 PM

I have set up my collection of Revell track many times. It was OK for my vintage 1/32 cars and some of the narrower 1/24 cars. The slot is not deep though.

If you plan on running any modern 3.25" wide cars I would go with a 1/24 Carrera set up. You can find them on Craigslist, quite often with extra cars.

Sam Levitch

"If you have integrity, nothing else matters, and if you do not have integrity, nothing else matters."
Robert Mueller,special council.(2013)

#3 Mattb

Mattb

Race Leader

• Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 990 posts

Posted 28 March 2015 - 02:52 PM

Carrera is the best and allows you to run 1/24 cars with the additional aprons. Lane spacing is like a commercial track. You can buy track to build as many as 8 lanes. It is expensive, but the best deals seem to be ebay auctions of dismantled track layouts. If you buy carrera you will never look back.