15 replies to this topic

#1 Ken Bryan

Ken Bryan

Race Leader

• Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 796 posts

Posted 06 November 2015 - 08:34 AM

Like Many of the "veterans" on Slotblog, I have been racing on and off since the 1960s. Over that time I have owned (or should I say have "been owned by") six different tracks.

My first track was an Eldon home set. My folks bought it for me at Christmas. I think it was 1963, but I could be a year off. If so, I was 12 at the time, and I loved it. The next year, they bought me a second set to add onto the first one. I loved designing tracks almost as much as I did racing the cars. I also learned the maintenance issues that come with a long plastic track, especially a cheap one like the Eldon. While I loved my track, I envied the kids nearby who had a Revell race set, which had clearly superior cars and track, and a banked curve!

Somewhere along the line I was given a crude routed wood track. It had cheap (and relatively worthless) aluminum braid. I rarely used it.

When I moved away from home, I sold the whole batch, including a 1/24 GE-powered Mirage, for $25.

Fast forward to about 1974. I am newly married, living in Southern California, and discover Riggen still makes some 1/32 cars. I advertised in the local "Nickel Nick" and found someone who had a mother lode of Revell track. I bought it all. It had different length curves, and could be made into a four-lane layout. Being older and wiser now, I decided to mount it (good idea) onto 5/8" particle board sheets. I had two 4x4 sheets that were the 180 with two straight pieces. So I could do an oval in 4x8. I had another 4x8 sheet that was just straights, a 4x4 sheet that was esses, and a 4x8 sheet that had a 4' straight section on the top and 270 degree curve at the bottom.

I could make several different four-lane combinations. Maintenance was less, because the sections were screwed down and didn't move.