61 replies to this topic

#1 havlicek

havlicek

OCD Rewinder

• Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,179 posts

Posted 25 December 2016 - 01:33 PM

Well, it seems Santa and my kids collaborated and got me a neat-o Grizzly 4x6 micro lathe:

grizzly.jpg

Jeepers, my son asked me what I'm going to make... to which I replied: "well, while figuring out how to use it, I'll definitely be making lots of squiggly metal turnings"!

Good golly Miss Molly, a micro mill, drill press and a bandsaw and I'll be in business. What "business"? Well, the business of figuring out things to make that I never thought of making, as well as how make things by machine I used to make by hand. :D  

Anywho, I figure there will be a lot of learning, broken tools and cursing (I am a carpenter after all, and we have our own dialect), all of which sounds like fun.

-john

• Jairus, slotbaker, hiline2 and 13 others like this
John Havlicek

#2 SlotStox#53

SlotStox#53

Posting Leader

• Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,895 posts

Posted 25 December 2016 - 01:36 PM

Congrats! Oh the wondrous parts and goodies you can make with this :D Have fun!!!

#3 garyvmachines

garyvmachines

On The Lead Lap

• Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 458 posts

Posted 25 December 2016 - 02:10 PM

Hi John,

Looks like a sweet unit, for home... I need to get one now that I am going to retire. (I won't have use of the ones at work.)

People ask me all the time, what I do at work ? I say mostly make chips... We make more chips than parts... ha-ha.

Good luck... Ask???... Read books... Play with your new tool...

GAV

• havlicek likes this
Gary Vogeler

#4 havlicek

havlicek

OCD Rewinder

• Subscriber
  • 9,179 posts

Posted 25 December 2016 - 02:45 PM

Thanks, guys.