• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 gc4895

gc4895

On The Lead Lap

• PipPipPipPip
  • 297 posts

Posted 26 August 2017 - 01:34 PM

I'm reading my latest Micro Mark catelog and I notice they are offering a resistance soldering set. That caused me to wonder, who is making their retro chassis or managing their flexi program using resistance soldering? Does this equipment lend itself to our use of soldering in the hobby? Does it work for attacking pinions or other delicate kinds of work? I have no experience with it and I was wondering if there was a quiet trend to replace our hot irons. Thanks!
Mark Bauer

#2 MSwiss

MSwiss

Grand Champion Poster

• Advertiser
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,266 posts

Posted 26 August 2017 - 01:55 PM

Certainly not a trend I've heard of.

It's been discussed here, before.

http://slotblog.net/...oldering +brass
  • tonyp likes this

Mike Swiss

IRRA® Components Committee Chairman
Five-time USRA National Champion (two G7, one G27, two G7 Senior)
Two-time G7 World Champion (1988, 1990)
Eight-time G7 King track single lap world record holder
17B West Ogden AveWestmont, IL 60559, ( 708) 203-8003
mikeswiss86@hotmail.com (also my PayPal address) 
Note: Send all USPS packages and mail to: 5858 Chase Ave., Downers Grove, IL 60516
Make checks out to Chicagoland Woodworking, Inc.

#3 gc4895

gc4895

On The Lead Lap

• PipPipPipPip
  • 297 posts

Posted 26 August 2017 - 02:05 PM

Thanks for the link! I missed that before. I guess the real truth is it didn't exist in 1969 so that will certainly, as noted in the thread, prevent its use today in retro. Though, hold on, there was no Third Eye in '69 either and i don't read about racers trading in their defalcos for blue Cox thumb actuated devices. I must admit, that would give me pause since I have experience with the Cox 'troller and it's not a happy memory.
Mark Bauer

#4 MSwiss

MSwiss

Grand Champion Poster

• Advertiser
  • 18,266 posts

Posted 26 August 2017 - 02:16 PM