#1 Don Weaver

Don Weaver

Checkered Flag in Hand

• Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts

Posted 09 June 2018 - 04:14 PM

This is my first attempt at posting with pictures so here goes:

I mostly enjoy building rather than racing slot cars, especially IRRA Retro and Vintage style cars.  This is one I recently finished.  I asked Eldon Adams, better known as Gene/ZR1 here, if he would do up one of his beautiful Thingie bodies for me.  Gene vac formed one of his "P" bodies and then gave it one of his easily recognizable ZR1 paint and detail jobs.  He also mounted the body for me as I'm not very good at it.  The body is really spectacular and looks, if you can believe it, better in person than in these pictures.

P1020245.JPG

P1020246.JPG

For the motor I turned to John Havlicek to re-do one of my all time favorite motors - the Champion 617.  The solid bottom and opened up off-end is just plain sexy.  John wound a 42/28 arm for it along with all his usual upgrades like spring post protectors.

For the chassis I made an anglewinder jaildoor style.  Windowed the drop arm, drilled out the fronts to look like the real Riggens on the rear.  Geared it up with a Cox spur and a brass pinion.  And a Jet flag finishes it off.

P1020247.JPG

P1020248.JPG

Thanks for looking.....

• mjsh, slotbaker, Jencar17 and 12 others like this

Don Weaver

​A slot car racer who never grew up!

The supply of government exceeds demand.
L.H. Lapham

If the brain-eating amoeba invades Washington
it will starve to death...

#2 Dan

Dan

Rookie Keyboard Racer

• Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 09 June 2018 - 06:12 PM

This is my first attempt at posting with pictures so here goes: