Jump to content




Photo

Will SRT run on a Windows 2000 box?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Cheater

Cheater

    Headmaster of the asylum

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,133 posts
  • Joined: 14-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norcross, GA

Posted 03 July 2018 - 05:02 PM

Thought I would ask here, rather than take the time to research the question.

 

Will the SRT lap timing system load (and run) on a Windows 2000 computer? I vaguely remember an internal clock that isn't present in Win 2000 is the main problem, but maybe there's a kludge or downloadable add-on that fixes that issue.

 

Anyone know the answer to this question?


Gregory Wells

Never forget that first place goes to the racer with the MOST laps, not the racer with the FASTEST lap





#2 Zippity

Zippity

    Posting Leader

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,679 posts
  • Joined: 05-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wellington, New Zealand

Posted 03 July 2018 - 06:54 PM

Isn't it an old DOS programme??

 

I.e it won't run under Windows in any shape or form.  :(


Ron Thornton
 

 


#3 boxerdog

boxerdog

    Race Leader

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 718 posts
  • Joined: 10-November 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Modesto, CA

Posted 03 July 2018 - 06:55 PM

I've seen SRT running on Windows (98??) boxes, but it was generally an unnecessary PITA to do so. If the box has the ISA slot, I'd just back it down to DOS if it were mine. Not sure specifically about Win 2000 because I haven't tried it. 


David Cummerow

#4 Ramcatlarry

Ramcatlarry

    Posting Leader

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,120 posts
  • Joined: 08-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St Charles, IL 60174

Posted 03 July 2018 - 10:44 PM

The Windows operating system is not needed - ONLY the DOS program and the motherboard slot to fit the SRT card.  I think a newer style card to fit more modern computers 'might' improve matters or make it an external interface card like everyone else does..


Larry D. Kelley, MA
retired raceway owner... (for now)
race directing around Chicago-land

USRA 2017 member #404
USSCA  member

Host 2006 ISRA/USA
Great Lakes Slot Car Club member
60+ year pin Racing rail/slot cars in America


#5 Ecurie Martini

Ecurie Martini

    Ecurie Martini

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 804 posts
  • Joined: 19-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Baltimore MD

Posted 03 July 2018 - 11:34 PM

This might work for newer systems lacking an ISA slot:

 

http://www.arstech.c...rge usb2isa.jpg

 

but at $150,  it is probably cheaper to find an old box - don't need much CPU power or memory to run the program

 

EM


  • boxerdog likes this
Alan Schwartz

#6 Ramcatlarry

Ramcatlarry

    Posting Leader

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,120 posts
  • Joined: 08-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St Charles, IL 60174

Posted 04 July 2018 - 01:43 PM

If it works/connects with a USB port, then new printers will also work with it. Never seen one.

 

Thanks, Alan.


Larry D. Kelley, MA
retired raceway owner... (for now)
race directing around Chicago-land

USRA 2017 member #404
USSCA  member

Host 2006 ISRA/USA
Great Lakes Slot Car Club member
60+ year pin Racing rail/slot cars in America






Electric Dreams Online Shop