5 replies to this topic

#1 triggerman

triggerman

Lurkaholic

• Subscriber
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts

Posted 06 May 2019 - 12:18 PM

Just logged into eBay and see that Mr. Schmitt is still selling Hudy tire truers with counterfeit micrometer screws installed on them and calling them by the name I've been using for my product since 2003!

For the potential buyers out there who might be interested in purchasing one of these knock-offs. If you buy one from him, you're not getting a Knob Job and you're getting screwed!

It's not just a micrometer screw, it's a turn-key system.

For those who don't know if you plan on purchasing a Knob Job equipped Hudy, ask yourself these questions:

1. Were the drum and axle aligned to minimize the cone in the tire after grinding?
2. Does it come with a chart that converts dial turns and steps to final grind size that's repeatable?
3. Did the seller relieve the final drive pulley so it wouldn't rub on the swinging support?
4. Are your axle hubs marked to aid in finding the set screw on full hub rims?
5. Does your adjustment screw stay put while grinding or does it rotate due to vibration?
6. Were the bearings lubricated with a special grease that costs $30 for a 40g tube?
7. Was the motor pulley shortened to facilitate lubrication of the motor bushing?

If you're not getting all this then you're getting screwed!
  • Pappy, Pablo, The Number of and 4 others like this

Dale Ryan
trigrman@rochester.rr.com

If it’s not an original Knob Job, you got screwed!

#2 Mike K

Mike K

Checkered Flag in Hand

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,338 posts

Posted 06 May 2019 - 02:19 PM

... the name I've been using for my product since 2003.

Dale - Always have liked and used your "stuff."

Have you trademarked or copyrighted the name "Knob Job"?

This might be a case of where your efforts have gotten to the point of a brand name taking on a generic industry meaning such as occurred with Xerox, Kleenex... even aspirin was a brand name at one point.