7 replies to this topic

#1 Cheater

Cheater

Headmaster of the asylum

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24,215 posts

Posted 05 June 2019 - 02:18 PM

I've been making this recipe for over 35 years, after first spotting it in the little newsletter that came with our electric bill some time in the '70s.

If you aren't familiar with Vidalia onions, they're grown in a specific area, one of 20 Georgia counties designated by the the Vidalia Onion Act of 1986. Just like with champagne in France, it is illegal in the US to sell an onion as a "Vidalia" unless it is grown in that area. For many years, it was not known why onions from the greater Toombs County area were so sweet, but research has shown that the soil in that area has a very low sulfur content and it is that element that is responsible for the 'bite' that most onions exhibit.

How sweet are Vidalias? A lot of folks love Vidalia sandwiches, just thick slices of the onion with lots of softened butter on sandwich bread.

Because of their high sugar content, Vidalias don't keep well and they have a short season, April to September, although the recent technique of storing the onions in a nitrogen atmosphere has extended their availability.

The classic way to store Vidalias is to take old panty hose, drop an onion in each toe, and then tie a knot. Alternate onions and knots, so the onions don't touch, and hang in a cool, dry area like a garage or basement.

Vidalias are typically big onions, often softball size or larger. I've got two I need to use and I'll be making reduced size version of the recipe below later today. This recipe tastes way, way better than one might think from its simplicity, escpecially if one uses genuine Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese.

EASY VIDALIA ONION CASSEROLE

PREP TIME: 25 mins
TOTAL TIME: 50 mins
SERVES: 4-5

ABOUT THIS RECIPE