• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Dan Searcy

Dan Searcy

Backmarker

• PipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 12 July 2019 - 05:46 PM

I've been painting slot car bodies for several years now.  For a long time, I used Parma Fastcolor paint, but I have recently begun to add Createx Wicked Cololrs into the mix.  I rough up the inside of the bodies with steel wool, then I wash them with dish soap (not Dawn, just the cheap stuff).  I dry them well and mask them as the design would require. 

As I said I've been painting bodies for years and have not had a chipping issue until recently.  It sems to be with the Createx paint.  I thin as needed with the Createx #4012 reducer until it sprays easily in my single action Badger 200NH Air Brush.  The last batch I painted have had chipping issues upon impact and that has not been an issue in the past with Parma Paint.  It kind of doesn't make sense because I've hear that Createx makes Parma Fastcolor.  I used to dilute with water but began using the Createx reducer because it seems to spray better for me and I believe it dries quicker between coats.  Sometimes I use a hair dryer between coats to help the drying process along.

The chipping has occurred on Red Fox bodies and Ralph Thorne bodies, so I doubt it's the fault of the bodies.  There are usually at least a few days between the painting and using the bodies.

I know that some of the "pro" painters use Createx and I have not seen posts anywhere complaining that their paint jobs are chipping.  So it must be me.  I have a few questions for the group and I would appreciate any input.  

I live in California, just a few miles from the ocean, so the weather there is generally not too hot and not especially humid.  I usually paint on the warmer days, because sometimes we get the marine layer here and it seems to affect paint drying with water-based paints.