• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Tommyslots

Tommyslots

Rookie Keyboard Racer

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 February 2020 - 03:16 PM

I just got a new DD281 and I'm trying to get an idea of how to use the traction control feature. From what I read in the instructions you should set your sensitivity and then fine tune the traction control knob but i'm still unclear exactly how this works...is it only the last band(s) that reduce power or all bands? I get that it reduces power slightly when punching the throttle and I noticed my lap times suffering a little (I'm relatively new to the hobby so I may have had a bad night of practice...) Any tips or advice (from Jim or anyone else who has used the feature) is appreciated.

On an unrelated note - I was surprised to see that I got the new handle on this controller! Its awesome! Now I just need to practice and get comfortable. 

Thanks, 

-Tom

• Rob Voska and iv_man like this
Thomas Lancieri

#2 Jim Difalco

Jim Difalco

Race Leader

• Advertiser
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts

Posted 10 February 2020 - 09:59 PM

Tom, the traction control works by slowing down the sensitivity on all the bands, depending on how much you turn the traction rheostat knob. The idea is to lower the power available as you punch it at the end of a turn so you will hopefully de-slot less and come out of the turns straighter. It depends if you are a really aggressive driver out of turns and if you are driving a heavier or slippery car.

I suggest you first drive the controller with the traction pot turned down all the way (no effect). Get comfortable with it like this. Set the sensitivity according to your motor and lane as usual.

Next you can start turning the traction pot higher to see if you like the change. Since the traction pot reduces the sensitivity on all the bands you will need to turn the main sensitivity rheostat up to get your first band power (punch) back to where you like it.