• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Racecan67

Racecan67

Rookie Keyboard Racer

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 November 2022 - 01:39 PM

I'm a very novice/beginner to HO slot cars. - AFX in the 70's - Tyco in the 90's

I just recently bought a large box of 90's era Tyco track at a yard sale and I couldn't pass it up.

It had no cars. A friend loaned me and Auto World VRC Hobbies Ford Shelby GT car.

I lightly sanded all the track rails w 600 grit emory, wiped it w damp cloth and the Auto World car ran pretty good.

I then ordered 2 AFX Mega G+ cars because they were low profile and cool looking.

When I put them on the track, they were SO fast the flew off even with the slightest triggering.

I ordered some Jelclaw rear tires, seemed to help a little, but still can barely make a lap without flying off.

Are these just the wrong cars for this track?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions20221130_131050.jpg

Scott Allred

#2 Randy Tragni

Randy Tragni

On The Lead Lap

• PipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts

Posted 30 November 2022 - 03:15 PM

There can be many factors at play here.
Check power supply voltage, should be between 15 and 18 volts.
A not obvious issue might be the depth of your mega g+ guide pins. Tyco track is notoriously shallow. Take a loose piece of track and see if the pin is holding the front end up when viewed at the end.
  • 993 likes this

#3 CoastalAngler1

CoastalAngler1

Outlaw Racer

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,299 posts

Posted 30 November 2022 - 04:34 PM

The new Mega G+ cars like a 120 ohm controller.  The controller in the pic is the issue.

• Tim Neja likes this

Charlie McCullough

Charlie's Speed Shop

Kelly Racing Wanna Be

#4 Racecan67

Racecan67

Rookie Keyboard Racer

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 November 2022 - 05:21 PM

There can be many factors at play here.
Check power supply voltage, should be between 15 and 18 volts.