Jump to content




Photo

Lap counter questions


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#26 dalek

dalek

    On The Lead Lap

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Joined: 25-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central FL

Posted 25 March 2015 - 10:19 PM

The website says it will work with Win8 but we are using Win7.

But in case you didn't notice, on the TrackMate website

http://www.trackmate...n/20-downloads#

there are two versions of TrackMate available for downloading.

The bottom one of the four listed, is ver 6.8.1 but the one above it is an updated version, 7.5.0.

Ver 7.5.0 has two features that we really like: 

One, it shows a * next to the lap count each time a lap is counted (including during the coast time).

And two, you can tell it how much, if any, time to deduct from the heat time each time there is a track call.

In ver 6.8.1, if you have a 2-second coast time, 2 seconds gets deducted from the heat time each time there is a track call.  We are using ver 7.5.0 and have the time set to zero.

I understand the reasoning about deducting some, or all of the coast time from the powered time of a heat, but in reality, I think it makes more sense to actually ADD time to the heat because even though you made some forward progress coasting, you will actually turn a slower lap getting your car back up to speed (especially if your car stopped at the beginning or part way through a turn).

+++++++++++++++

Having said all of that, ver 7.5.0 suddenly started the race over three times now in the last two times we used it.

The first time, we were just beginning heat 8 of 11 when we looked at the monitor and saw it said heat 1 of 11 (and of course, everybody had zero laps).

The next time, it was during heat 5 of 8 and the last time was heat 3 of 8 when it aborted itself and started over.

We were able to salvage the races by getting the total number of laps each person had run up and through the last heat because TrackMate records the info at the end of each heat in files

C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\scltimer750\Stats\

DefaultRaceFile.txt and DefaultRaceFileWithLaps.txt

 

I haven't contacted TrackMate about this issue because I installed a hard drive image on the raceway's PC (taking the PC back to a time before any recent software had been installed) then I reinstalled ver 7.5.0 then ran an 8 heat test race and experienced no problems.

We will be using ver 7.5.0 again this Friday night for our weekly races and see if it behaves.


Dale King
 
Home Raceway




#27 Wizard Of Iz

Wizard Of Iz

    Slot Parrothead

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,440 posts
  • Joined: 15-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jacksonville, FL

Posted 26 March 2015 - 10:07 PM

If I was in the market for new track software, I would buy Carsten's LapMaster system in a heartbeat!  From what I've seen it has the best features of TrackMate and the best features of the tried-and-true SRT software and it works with modern computers.   And, I hear that his support is awesome.  

 

Plus, if all of the tracks in Florida were using LapMaster, we could have a race event where everyone is racing on their home track and racing against each other on a common scoreboard at the same time. 

 

We're still using SRT on both tracks and everything works just fine, but we're screwed if the antique computer ever dies as it needs something at least as old as Windows 98 .  But even good ol' SRT provides an asterisk to indicate that a car has crossed the lap counter during a track call or at the end of the heat.  

 

 

SRT's "coast time" feature is designed to compensate for the roll a car will get during a track call by adding that amount of time to the driver's lap so they won't "break out."  In my opinion, that's a much better solution than subtracting time from the heat.


Rollin Isbell
 


#28 sizzlerdom

sizzlerdom

    On The Lead Lap

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Joined: 27-March 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cream Ridge, NJ

Posted 01 February 2018 - 11:27 PM

Hi guys, not sure if this is the right place for my request but I'm looking for an old Auto Track 2 lap counting system the relay card and the card that goes into the computer any one have this and want to sell ? Thanks for any help, Dom


Dominick Roselli
Dom's Raceway

#29 iceracer

iceracer

    Backmarker

  • Full Member
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Joined: 24-August 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted 26 March 2018 - 10:55 AM

Hi guys, not sure if this is the right place for my request but I'm looking for an old Auto Track 2 lap counting system the relay card and the card that goes into the computer any one have this and want to sell ? Thanks for any help, Dom

I think that what was on the track I have before we upgraded to Trackmate, I'll have a look when I get home...


Terry Dalton

#30 iceracer

iceracer

    Backmarker

  • Full Member
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Joined: 24-August 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted 26 March 2018 - 11:02 AM

Trackmate question;

 

We have a 5 lane track with 1 monitor and the laptop.  I'd like to display the current race on one and the total race on the other. As it is now, the overall race only displays after the current heat is finished, in our case for 15 seconds before it disappears and the lane rotations begin.  It kind of frustrating not being able to see the current overall running order.  We often have 10 to 15 racers and they cannot follow the race during sit outs..   I'd even settle for having the overall on the same screen as the current race, like Picture in picture.

 

I have contacted trackmate but to date no solution.  Anyone else have the same issue?

 

Regards, Terry


Terry Dalton

#31 Racer36

Racer36

    Race Leader

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Joined: 09-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Posted 26 March 2018 - 01:23 PM

No matter what the question, Lapmaster is the answer.


  • MarkH likes this

Dennis Dominey

Lifelong half-assed slot racer


#32 iceracer

iceracer

    Backmarker

  • Full Member
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Joined: 24-August 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted 27 March 2018 - 11:00 AM

No matter what the question, Lapmaster is the answer.

 

I inquired about LapMaster, but at the moment I cannot justify the cost to switch over.  So, with that in mind, anyone have an idea to the Trackmate question?

 

Thanks, Terry


Terry Dalton

#33 MSwiss

MSwiss

    Grand Champion Poster

  • Advertiser
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,595 posts
  • Joined: 16-April 06
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2018 - 11:32 AM

Trackmate question;

 

We have a 5 lane track with 1 monitor and the laptop.  I'd like to display the current race on one and the total race on the other. As it is now, the overall race only displays after the current heat is finished, in our case for 15 seconds before it disappears and the lane rotations begin.  It kind of frustrating not being able to see the current overall running order.  We often have 10 to 15 racers and they cannot follow the race during sit outs..   I'd even settle for having the overall on the same screen as the current race, like Picture in picture.

 

I have contacted trackmate but to date no solution.  Anyone else have the same issue?

 

Regards, Terry

Did he say it can't be done, or just didn't get back to you?


Mike Swiss
 
IRRA® Components Committee Chairman
Five-time USRA National Champion (two G7, one G27, two G7 Senior)
Two-time G7 World Champion (1988, 1990)
Eight-time G7 King track single lap world record holder
17B West Ogden AveWestmont, IL 60559, ( 708) 203-8003
mikeswiss86@hotmail.com (also my PayPal address) 
Note: Send all USPS packages and mail to: 5858 Chase Ave., Downers Grove, IL 60516
Make checks out to Chicagoland Woodworking, Inc.


#34 Ramcatlarry

Ramcatlarry

    Posting Leader

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,036 posts
  • Joined: 08-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St Charles, IL 60174

Posted 27 March 2018 - 12:29 PM

Windows issue to me.  You would need to be able to open two windows on two different screens while running the race.  I think some high end drafting programs do something like that, but Cannot se it happening in a race program.


Larry D. Kelley, MA
retired raceway owner... (for now)
race directing around Chicago-land

USRA 2017 member #404
USSCA  member

Host 2006 ISRA/USA
Great Lakes Slot Car Club member
60+ year pin Racing rail/slot cars in America


#35 MarkH

MarkH

    On The Lead Lap

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined: 26-November 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis

Posted 27 March 2018 - 05:12 PM

I and a couple of other local guys run two windows with Lapmaster. Win7 machines. One screen has the current laps, timing etc while the second displays the scoreboard which provides for each driver current total laps of race, predicted total laps totals, best timed lap on what lane and I believe there are a couple other options we have hidden that are not needed for our format of racing.

 

While costing more than others, it is a one time purchase and well worth the features and tech support.


Mark Horne

SERG - www.slotcarenduro.club
"Racing is life... everything else is just waiting." Steve McQueen - LeMans
There are only two things in life that make me feel alive. Racing is one of them.


#36 dalek

dalek

    On The Lead Lap

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Joined: 25-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central FL

Posted 27 March 2018 - 10:05 PM

SlotTrak is free now though their website says you have to pay for tech support.

 

We've been using it at P-1 Raceway for three years.  It works with Trackmate hardware.

 

The Raceway.biz in Melbourne FL has recently started using it on their 1/32 scale track.  So far they like it.

 

You can download SlotTrak and try it out in Demo mode.

 

 

 


Dale King
 
Home Raceway

#37 dalek

dalek

    On The Lead Lap

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Joined: 25-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central FL

Posted 29 March 2018 - 08:10 AM

I like SlotTrak because it writes race and qualifying data to an Access database rather than to a text file. 
 
This allowed me to create race reports (below) with the features I wanted.  
 
Such as, when there is a tie (see Tony P and Terry Tawney) then the section numbers display. 
 
Also, the fastest laps have bold borders, etc..
 
The second report shows what it looks like when there is a race with multiple lane rotations.
 
 
If anyone using SlotTrak would like to be able to print reports like these, I could e-mail the file (that creates the reports) to you.
To generate the reports, you have to have a PC with Microsoft Access 2000 (or later) on it.
 
 
Three years ago, when P-1 started using SlotTrak, I looked on Ebay and found MS Office Pro 2003 for $25.  The reason it was so cheap was because it was considered obsolete.  I put it on the raceway's PC so we could print the reports.
 
At the end of each race day, I copy the DB to a thumb drive then, at home, I create the reports as PDF files and e-mail them to everyone.
 
GRRR Can Am_1 copy.jpg
Teams_1 copy.jpg
 
 

Dale King
 
Home Raceway

#38 iceracer

iceracer

    Backmarker

  • Full Member
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Joined: 24-August 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted 10 April 2018 - 10:49 AM

I downloaded and installed SlotTrak and then my laptop went nuts, so I dumped it. I found it confusing.
 
"Did he say it can't be done, or just didn't get back to you?"
 
He said no one had ever inquired about it and that he would look into it.
Terry Dalton

#39 Racer36

Racer36

    Race Leader

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Joined: 09-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Posted 10 April 2018 - 11:19 AM

After your exposure to LapMaster on the weekend I thought sure you would have placed an order by now.

Dennis Dominey

Lifelong half-assed slot racer


#40 Ramcatlarry

Ramcatlarry

    Posting Leader

  • Subscriber
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,036 posts
  • Joined: 08-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St Charles, IL 60174

Posted 10 April 2018 - 09:42 PM

FYI: for those using SRT.  You do not need any windows software, JUST LOAD DOS and the SRT software.  No mouse, just a keyboard needed.  The reason for the old computors is the SRT board socket that is not in newer motherboards.  Someone could develop an interface or revised boards (HINT to SRT staff.)


Larry D. Kelley, MA
retired raceway owner... (for now)
race directing around Chicago-land

USRA 2017 member #404
USSCA  member

Host 2006 ISRA/USA
Great Lakes Slot Car Club member
60+ year pin Racing rail/slot cars in America






Electric Dreams Online Shop